Living with Anxiety: Setting the Stage for Healing

Life Tip Tuesday

Youthful Homesteader

Hello, and welcome to another edition of Life Tip Tuesdays! I hope last week’s tips were helpful, and perhaps they resonate with you as well. Today, I’d like to get into some tips and exercises my counselor had me go through that began my healing process.

In 2020, I had my first (and hopefully only) panic attack. After about a month of long work hours at home and virtually no contact with my friends or family, the stress and anxiety had been steadily building. I found myself home alone and struggling to breathe.

I thought maybe I had COVID, so I called the fire department. The EMTs came and looked me over. They very quickly determined that what I was experiencing was not caused by something physical, so they stayed and calmed me down. Even though it felt impossible, they had me focus on breathing all the way in (slowly) and then breathing all the way out. Slowly, the panic attack dissipated.

It was at that point that I knew something had to change. Though I had managed my anxiety for years, it was clear it had gotten worse, not better. I searched out a Christian certified counselor who had experience treating young women for anxiety.

To start with, she wanted to focus on some initial steps to prevent another panic attack or anxiety attack. Since mental and emotional healing takes quite a bit of time and can be triggering, she wanted to “stop the bleeding” in a sense first. The first exercise she had me do was mindful breathing. Breathing with your stomach rather than your chest is essential for this exercise and generally easiest when laying down. Counting 4 seconds as you breathe in, and 8 seconds as you breathe out, helps you focus even more on your breathing. She had me practice this as I went to sleep each night.

The second exercise was to think of a peaceful place or activity. For me, it was horseback riding on a quiet beach. For this to be most effective, she said to focus on all the senses: not only what you envision, but what sounds and smells go with that scene (the sound of crashing waves, smell of saltwater). This was another exercise practiced alongside mindful breathing each night. It was a way to remind my brain that I wasn’t in immediate danger; I was safe.

Takeaways for Today:

  • As much as I hope my tips and stories are helpful to you, I cannot recommend enough finding a certified counselor yourself if you struggle with anxiety. I am not giving proven professional or individual treatment and advice like a real counselor would.

  • When searching for a counselor, try to find one that specializes in treating people like you. They will likely be able to provide better treatment for your particular situation.

  • Healing is not a quick fix, it is a long process.

  • Tools to manage anxiety are absolutely necessary in the short-term.

  • If you are a church-going Christian, check in with your small group or church leaders. While they are usually not certified counselors, they may know good counselors to refer you to or be able to provide financial assistance.

“Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations. The best is yet to come.”

Zig Ziglar

Thanks for reading!

Faith Smith