My Overnight Oatmeal Recipe

As someone wanting to be healthier in a chaotically busy world, I thought some of my recipes might be helpful as they’re usually quick or low maintenance to cook or prepare.

Overnight oatmeal is one of my favorite healthy breakfasts to prepare. I use a 2:1:1 ratio of oats, milk, and Greek yogurt.

The Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Old-fashioned rolled oats

  • 1/2 cup Milk (any kind you prefer)

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (plain for low sugar or flavored)

  • 1-2 tbs to taste Honey (may substitute maple syrup)

  • Any other toppings or mix-ins to taste!

First, I put the oats, milk, and yogurt in a jar or to-go mug. Then, I sprinkle about 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract on top. I add honey until most of the yogurt is covered. I use plain Greek yogurt, so it can be a bit sour and hard on the stomach without the honey. I also add 2 tsp of chia seeds before mixing everything together. For variety in flavor, I will rotate between adding cacao nibs, crushed hazelnut, cinnamon, or fruit (berries go particularly well with this recipe). I prefer leaving fruit on top rather than mixing it in. Once the mixture is stirred, I cover and let sit overnight (at least 4-5 hours).

Thanks for reading!