Putting Things Off

Life Tip Tuesday

Youthful Homesteader

Hello, and welcome to Life Tip Tuesdays!

Last week, I had a root canal. I’ve always taken good care of my teeth, so I was shocked when I started to have a bad toothache. After treatment, the doctor told me it was because my most recent filling was too deep, where it was irritating the nerve inside the tooth.

I had waited to get that tooth filled when they first found the cavity because it was a bit of a long drive for me to my dentist. Looking back now, I think I might have been able to avoid the root canal if I had made it a priority to get that cavity filled as soon as possible rather than waiting until my next cleaning appointment. The dentist might not have had to drill as deep for the filling then.

Problems, whether physical, mental, emotional, or relational, rarely wait until it’s convenient. Waiting to address issues can and often does make it worse. I can say that not only for my tooth, but also my anxiety. I’ve talked about avoiding problems altogether, but there’s also potential problems with just waiting to deal with them.

Intent to fix a problem, does not stop it from growing. Sometimes waiting is unavoidable. When you have the opportunity to start fixing a problem though, it will only become harder if you wait.

Takeaways for Today:

  • Don’t wait to address problems if you have a choice

  • Physical, mental, and emotional issues are not so different in how they need to be treated for healing; all worsen over time if left to their own devices

“Healing involves discomfort. But so is refusing to heal. And over time, refusing to heal is always more painful.”

Resmaa Menakem
The Daily TonicA free morning newsletter with the latest on all things health 🌿 Over 100,000 readers 🌻