Sugar and Sickness

Story Time Thursday

Youthful Homesteader

Hello, and welcome to Story Time Thursdays!

Dealing with a recent sickness as it went through our local community, I thought I would share some of the things I do to help myself recover at home. First, the obligatory disclaimer: I am not a doctor giving medical advice; I’m just someone who wants to share their personal experiences.

One of the most important things I do when I first start feeling sick is that I avoid sugar. Sugar is one of the worst foods for your immune system; some sources years ago even said that consuming 30 grams of sugar in one sitting could practically shut down your immune system for a few hours. Depending on how dedicated I am to this, I will even go so far as to avoid carb-heavy foods (since carbohydrates basically turn into sugar) like bread the first 2 days.

The second thing I do is to load up on my normal supplement regimen. I have a few go-to supplements to support immune system when fighting off sickness. One is oregano oil (diluted for oral use). This is a very potent essential oil that must be diluted in a carrier oil like olive oil. I buy a solution that is already diluted, but if you have the proper ratio, you can buy a pure version and dilute it yourself. I take this as a supplement, but you can also rub it into the soles of your feet.

Colloidal silver is another go-to home remedy. My naturopath even prescribed a concentrated solution of this for me once. I gargle this in the back of my throat and swallow when done. If you have a nebulizer, you can also put this solution in it; though I would reserve that for the more severe chest and lung illnesses.

Of course, you can also never go wrong with vitamin C. I admit I don’t prioritize this one enough. However, I’ve known people who have gone from terribly sick to feeling 80-90% better in a couple days when taking high doses of vitamin C. It’s always important to keep in mind the type of vitamin C in whatever supplement you’re taking though. Vitamin C is often combined with salt or calcium to reduce the acidity of it; neither of which are particularly good to take extreme amounts of.

Finally, while I try to get plenty of sleep, I also don’t stop exercising completely. I feel that if I just lay and sit around, it takes longer for me to recover, so I switch to light exercise like a short walk every day. Yoga would work as well if you prefer that.

Home Remedies When You’re Sick:

  • Avoiding sugar

  • Oregano Oil

  • Colloidal Silver

  • Vitamin C

  • Sleep

  • Light Exercise

“My soul, praise the Lord, and do not forget all His benefits. He forgives all your sin; He heals all your diseases.”

Psalm 103:2-3
The Daily TonicA free morning newsletter with the latest on all things health 🌿 Over 100,000 readers 🌻